# Х.

## NORTHERN VIRGINIA TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

#### <u>MEMORANDUM</u>

TO:	Chair Randall and Members of the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority
FROM:	Monica Backmon, Executive Director
SUBJECT:	Update on the 2020 Legislative Session
DATE:	January 3, 2020

**1) Purpose:** To update the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority (NVTA) on the 2020 Legislative Session.

#### 2) Background:

- a) The NVTA adopted its 2020 Legislative Program on December 12, 2019.
- **b)** The 2020 General Assembly Session commences on January 8, 2020.
- c) Several bills have been pre-filed. As of today, not many impact the Authority's work to reduce congestion in Northern Virginia.
  - i) We expect the administration to submit a bill that addresses several transportation issues including restoring funding for the Authority and stabilizing the gas tax as a revenue source for transportation.
  - Bills updating Virginia's Energy Plan will address a variety of goals and requirements. It is unclear if the legislation will attempt to change how Virginia plans or implements transportation improvements. We also expect extensive discussion among the General Assembly regarding the Long Bridge project.
  - iii) We are still waiting for committee assignments to determine where we need to focus on to advance our policy goals.
  - iv) The Governor's introduced budget did not have any significant matters affecting the Authority.
- **d)** At the January 9<sup>th</sup> meeting, Ms. Baynard will share an initial list of legislation and observations on the start of General Assembly.

#### Attachments:

1. 2020 General Assembly Leadership Decisions

## Attachment.

## **2020 General Assembly Leadership Decisions**

## House of Delegates

Speaker-Designee Eileen Filler-Corn (D-Fairfax) <u>Chief of Staff</u> – Kevin O'Halloran <u>Legislative and Policy Director</u>- Gerica Goodman <u>Director of Scheduling and Administration</u> - Lindsey Watson <u>Director of Communications</u> - Jake Rubenstein <u>Constituent Outreach Director</u> - Tyler Javonillo

<u>Democratic Majority Leader</u> - Charniele Herring (D-Alexandria) <u>Democratic Caucus Leader Rip Sullivan</u> - (D-Fairfax/Arlington) <u>Democratic Caucus Vice Chair of Operations</u> - Jeion Ward (D-Hampton) <u>Democratic Caucus Vice Chair of Outreach</u> - Kathleen Murphy (D-McLean) <u>Democratic Caucus Secretary</u> - Marcus Simon (D-Falls Church) <u>Democratic Caucus Treasurer</u> - Betsy Carr (D-Richmond) <u>Democratic Caucus Sargeant-at-Arms</u> - Delores McQuinn (D-Chesterfield)

<u>House Republican Leader</u> - Todd Gilbert (R-Shenandoah) <u>House Republican Caucus Chair</u> - Kathy Byron (R-Bedford) <u>House Republican Caucus Whip</u> - Jay Leftwich (R-Chesapeake)

## **Committee Chair Appointments**

Committee	Chair	Vice Chair
Agriculture, Chesapeake and	Ken Plum (D-Reston)	Wendy Gooditis (D-Clarke
Natural Resources		County)
Appropriations	Luke Torian (D-Prince William)	Mark Sickles (D-Alexandria)
Commerce and Labor	Jeion Ward (D-Hampton)	Rip Sullivan (D-Arlington)
Counties, Cities and Towns	Kaye Kory (D-Falls Church)	Steve Heretick (D-Portsmouth)
Courts of Justice	Charniele Herring (D-	Vivian Watts (D-Annandale)
	Alexandria)	
Education	Roslyn Tyler (D-Jarratt)	Elizabeth Guzman (D-Prince
		William)
Finance	Vivian Watts (D-Annandale)	Mark Keam (D-Fairfax)
General Laws	David Bulova (D-Fairfax City)	Betsy Carr (D-Richmond)
Health, Welfare & Institutions	Mark Sickles (D-Southern	Sam Rasoul (D-Roanoke)
	Fairfax)	
Militia, Police and Public Safety	Patrick Hope (D-Arlington)	Jeff Bourne (D-Richmond)
Privileges and Elections	Joe Lindsey (D-Norfollk)	Marcus Simon (D-Falls Church)
Rules	Speaker Eileen Filler-Corn (D-	Mike Mullin (D-Newport News)
	Fairfax)	
Science and Technology	Cliff Hayes (D-Chesapeake)	Hala Ayala (D-Woodbridge)
Transportation	Delores McQuinn (D-	Kathleen Murphy (D-McLean)
	Richmond)	

### House Staff

<u>Clerk-Designee of the House and Keeper of the Rolls</u> - Suzette Denslow <u>Staff Director of the House Appropriations Committee</u> - Anne Oman

## Virginia Legislative Black Caucus

<u>Chair</u> - Delegate Lamont Bagby (D-Henrico) <u>Vice Chair</u> - Senator Jennifer McClellan (D-Richmond) <u>Treasurer</u> - Delegate Sam Rasoul (D-Roanoke), <u>Secretary</u> - Delegate Marcia Price (D-Newport News) <u>Chaplain</u> - Delegate Joshua Cole (D-Fredericksburg)

## <u>Senate</u>

## Senate Leadership Positions:

<u>Democratic Majority Leader</u> - Senator Dick Saslaw (D-Fairfax) <u>Democratic Caucus Chair</u> - Senator Mamie E. Locke (D-Hampton) <u>President Pro Tempore</u> - Senator L. Louise Lucas (D-Portsmouth) <u>Democratic Caucus Vice Chair</u> - Senator Scott Surovell (D-Mount Vernon) <u>Democratic Caucus Vice Chair for Policy</u> - Senator Jeremy McPike (D-Prince William) <u>Democratic Caucus Secretary</u> - Senator Jennifer McClellan (D-Richmond) <u>Democratic Caucus Whips</u> - Senator-Elect Ghazala Hashmi (D-Chesterfield) <u>Democratic Caucus Whips</u> - Senators Barbara Favola (D-Arlington) and Lionell Spruill, Sr. (D-Chesapeake) Democratic Caucus Sergeant at Arms - Senator Jennifer Boysko (D-Fairfax)

<u>Republican Minority Leader</u> – Senator Tommy Norment (R-James City County) <u>Republican Caucus Chairman</u> – Senator Ryan McDougle (R-Hanover)

## Senate Committee Chair Appointments

<u>Agriculture, Conservation & Natural Resources</u> - Senator Chap Petersen (D-Fairfax City) <u>Commerce & Labor</u> - Senator Dick Saslaw (D-Fairfax) <u>Courts of Justice</u> - Senator John Edwards (D-Roanoke) <u>Education & Health</u> - Senator L. Louise Lucas (D-Portsmouth) <u>Finance</u> - Senator Janet Howell (D-Fairfax) <u>General Laws & Technology</u> - Senator George Barker (D-Fairfax) <u>Local Government</u> - Senator Lynwood Lewis (D-Accomack) <u>Privileges & Elections</u> - Senator Creigh Deeds (D-Bath) <u>Rehabilitation & Social Services</u> - Senator Barbara Favola (D-Arlington) <u>Rules</u> - Senator Mamie E. Locke (D-Hampton) <u>Transportation</u> - Senator Dave Marsden (D-Fairfax)