NORTHERN VIRGINIA TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

<u>M E M O R A N D U M</u>

TO:	Chairman Martin E. Nohe and Members Northern Virginia Transportation Authority
FROM:	Monica Backmon, Executive Director
DATE:	December 5, 2019
SUBJECT:	Appointment of Town Representative to the Authority for CY 2020

- **1. Purpose:** To seek Northern Virginia Transportation Authority (NVTA) approval of the Town Representative to the Authority for Calendar Year 2020.
- **2.** Suggested Motion: I move Authority appointment of Mayor Derrick Wood of the Town of Dumfries as the calendar year 2020 Town Representative.
- 3. Background:
 - As part of the composition of the Authority membership, there is a requirement that the Authority include the chief elected officer of one town in a county embraced by the Authority with a population of 3,500 or more.
 - The Town Representative is to be chosen by the Authority at the annual meeting and is a non-voting member. The Town Representative shall be rotated on an annual basis.
 - The mayors of Dumfries, Herndon, Leesburg, Purcellville and Vienna were queried as to their interest in serving for CY2020.
 - Mayor Derrick Wood, Town of Dumfries, was recommended by his colleagues. With Authority approval, Mayor Wood will represent the towns on the Authority for calendar year 2020.